The new ECDL is made up of a set of modules grouped under the following headings:

Base modules are the building blocks for digital literacy, describing essential skills and knowledge.

Standard modules allow individuals to build their digital competence, depending on their needs.


ECDL Base (which will replace ECDL START) is a certification of an individual’s digital literacy. It consists of four separate modules that cover key ICT skills and knowledge areas. These four essential modules are:

Computer Essentials (CE) – essential knowledge and skills relating to the use of computers and devices (replaces module 2 and part of module 1)

Online Essentials (OE) – knowledge and skills underpinning the use of the Internet to identify and retrieve information, to engage in online activities, and to communicate effectively (replaces module 7 and part of module 1)

Word Processing – skills related to working with text in a word processing application (current module 3 retained – no changes)

Spreadsheets– skills related to working with numbers in a spreadsheet application (current module 4 retained – no changes)

ECDL Standard:

ECDL Standard (which will replace ECDL CORE) is a certification that can be obtained by studying the following 3 modules added with the 4 modules of the ECDL Base.

  • Presentation
  • Using Databases
  • IT Security

Entry Requirements

There are no formal entry requirements for candidates undertaking this qualification but a good knowledge of English is mandatory.


After successfully passing all exams student will be awarded with ECDL Standard Certificate.


2020 – March, May, July, September, November

Course Length: 6 weeks (Covering 22hrs)
Timetable: Course will be held twice a week 2hrs each lesson (total of 4hrs per week).
Course Fee: €350
Additional Fee: €135 applies for exams, mocks and registration fees.